Oops, an error
Loading. Please wait.

Overjoyed Chords

More versions @911Tabs.com
34,276 views 99 this week
6 commentsread comments
1 2 3 4 5
x 11
add to favorites
launch autoscroll
font size
simplify chords
highlight chords
display chords
Tab Pro tools
  • play this tab
  • loop segment
  • change instrument
  • show fretboard
  • metronome
set tempo
Inspire and develop your lil' rock stars
WARNING: You are trying to view
                                    content from Ultimate-Guitar.com
                                    in an unauthorized application,
                                    which is prohibited.

                                    Please use an official Ultimate
                                    Guitar Tabs application for iPhone,
                                    iPad or Android to access legitimate
                                    chords, guitar, bass, and drum tabs
                                    from Ultimate-Guitar.com database.

                                    Type "ultimate guitar tabs" in Apple
                                    App Store's or Android Market's
                                    search to find the application.
                             Overjoyed – Matchbox Twenty
Tabbed by:  mparent
E-mail:  mparent@alumni.purdue.edu
Tuning:  EADGCe  **  note that b string is tuned up ½ step to c

Verse Chords:          *Cadd12       
   C/G    EmaddC        Csus4    C*  Gsus4       G5   Gadd4

Chorus Chords:
        C*        Dm11        Fadd2

Bridge Chords:
      Gadd4   Am7   Csus4

Intro:  C/G EmaddC  x2

Verse 1:  C/G        EmaddC               C/G          EmaddC        Csus4
          Feeling my hands start shaking  Hearing your voice I'm overjoyed
                C*       Gsus4 G5  Csus4   C*          Gsus4   G5
          I'm sorry but I have no choice   You're only getting bitter
          C/G       EmaddC             C/G          EmaddC               Csus4
          Maybe you have your reasons  Maybe you're scared you'll be let down
                   C*        Gsus4 G5        Csus4
          Are you crying when there's no one around?

Chorus:         Gadd4               C*      Dm11   Fadd2              
          Then maybe, maybe if you hold me, baby, let me come over
                  C*        Dm11   Fadd2
          I will tell you secrets nobody knows
                     C*   Dm11    Fadd2             C/G      EmaddC 
          I can not overstate it   I will be overjoyed

Verse 2:  C/G                EmaddC 
          That smile on your face like summer  
          C/G               EmaddC                  Csus4
          The way that your hand keeps touching mine
                 C*           Gsus4    G5    Csus4
          Let me be the one to make it right

Chorus:       Gadd4                 C*      Dm11  Fadd2
          And maybe, maybe let me hold you, baby, let me come over
                  C*       Dm11   Fadd2
          I will tell you secrets nobody knows
                     C*  Dm11     Fadd2          C/G(hammer 1st fret high E string)
          I can not overstate it  I will be overjoyed

Bridge:   Gadd4      Am7        Csus4      Gadd4
          And if you want we'll share this life
          Am7                          Csus4             Gadd4
          Anytime you need a friend I'm gonna be by your side
                      Am7  Csus4 Gadd4   Csus4 
          When nobody understands you... well I do

(High e string not played while drums are stopped)

Chorus:                    C*       Dm11  Fadd2
          So maybe let me hold you, baby, let me come over
                  C*      Dm11    Fadd2
          I will tell you secrets God only knows
                     C*  Dm11     Fadd2              C*
          I can not overstate it  I will be overjoyed
           Dm11 Fadd2             C*              Dm11
          Baby, let me come over  I will tell you secrets
           Fadd2                  C*  Dm11    Fadd2             C*    Dm11
          Nobody knows  I can not overstate it I will be overjoyed
           Fadd2             C*     Dm11   Fsus2             C*
          Well I will be overjoyed     Well I will be overjoyed

Based on performances by Kyle Cook and Rob Thomas   


| /   slide up
| \   slide down
| h   hammer-on
| p   pull-off
| ~   vibrato
| +   harmonic
| x   Mute note
| b   Bend
| pb  Pre-bend
| br  Bend release
| pbr Pre-bend release
| brb Bend release bend

print report bad tab
6 comments total. Showing first comments.
0 reply
mparent wrote on September 18 2012, 12:57 pm

Hello, I apologize about ambiguity of the chord names under verse chords - formatting issue. There are seven chords, the names are correct, just move them to the left so that they fit over correct chords.

Cadd12 is just another name for the C* and is referred to as such throughout tab. Thanks, mparent

0 reply
dudgee wrote on December 13 2012, 09:56 pm

great chart.

0 reply
XDCMusic wrote on March 28 2013, 05:55 pm

Awesome chart!

I want to post or [tab]
You may want to rate the tab now too:
select rating
Please do not post tabs as comments. Select "correction" instead!